Artist Profile

Fake Shark

Vancouver, British Columbia
Light Organ Records

Fake Shark (formerly known as Fake Shark - Real Zombie!) is a Canadian freak-pop band. Formed in 2005, their musical style combines elements of IDM and post-hardcore. The name is a reference to Lucio Fulci's film Zombi 2, where a real shark and a zombie engage in combat.

Fake Shark-Real Zombie! was conceived by Kevvy and Louis in October 2005 as a way of combining the styles of the bands they liked in hopes to one day open for them. They met in high school, but didn't form the band until some time after graduation. To complete the band, they recruited (via Craigslist) bassist Dan Hughes and The Heck's former drummer, Malcolm Holt. Around the start of 2007, Hughes left the band and was replaced by The Heck's and Hot Hot Heat's former bassist, Parker Bossley. The onslaught of MySpace buzz garnered the interest of Vinyl Junkie Records in Japan who released the band's debut album Zebra! Zebra! on April 25, 2007.

While life-sized cut-outs of the band's members at HMV stores in Japan may indicate a popularity outside the arena of punk, the band still adheres to the punk lifestyle. It has been said that bouncers have had to "manually take down microphones and disassemble gear in order for the band to stop playing. They are known to wear dresses, and Henry Rollins has stated that they are one of his favorite new bands, playing them several times on his radio show Harmony In My Head.

Fake Shark-Real Zombie! have toured with artists such as Mindless Self Indulgence, Klaxons, Hot Hot Heat, Brokencyde, The Birthday Massacre, Marianas Trench (band), Jeffree Star and Test Icicles. They have also completed three tours of the United Kingdom and performed four sold out dates in Japan. 2008 saw Fake Shark with a North American release of Zebra! Zebra! on March 11, 2008 and the release their new EP Style of Substance followed by additional tours of North America and the UK and festival appearances in Japan.

During summer 2008, the band went into the studio with music producer Dave "Rave" Ogilvie (known for his work with Skinny Puppy, Jakalope, Marilyn Manson and Nine Inch Nails) to record their second album. The result was Meeting People Is Terrible, a sophomore attempt that seems just as eclectic as their first but with even more genres covered and mashed such as funk and industrial. The band had leaked two tracks ("Jewellery" and "Angel Lust") from the album and a bonus single, a cover of Portishead's "Sour Times", on their MySpace page. They released the album, August 26, 2009 in Japan and May 31, 2010 worldwide.

In 2009, Kevvy Mental scored the short film starring Canadian singer Sarah Slean entitled 'Last Flowers' directed by CJ Wallis. The film was nominated for a pair of Leo Awards.

Fake Shark Real Zombie's later released the album "Liar". Producers and collaborators include Steve Bays, Greig Nori, Dave Ogilvie, Jimmy Urine, members of Die Mannequin, Japanese Voyeurs, and The Birthday Massacre.

In 2015, the band released two new singles called Can't See You and Cheap Thrills; the second single was released under the band's new name Fake Shark.

In 2017, the band released the EP "Something Special" which received extensive radio play and making it into the Top 40 in Canada
Kevvy Mental
Louis Wu
Tony Dallas
Official Website:

Official video for "Something Special" by FAKE SHARK

Coming Soon to The Asylum

Kissing Candice

NY Electro Horror Metal

Negură Bunget

Transilvanian Black Metal


Vancouver Ska/Reggae Prog M

Behind These Eyes

Sudbury Deathcore


Toronto Death Metal

Ruptured Birth

Sudbury Death Metal

The Radissons Band

Sudbury Rock/Country


Hamilton Heavy/Thrash Metal

Motor City Maniacs

Oshawa Hard Rock/Metal

Burn The Flames

Sudbury Pop Punk

Return For Refund

Toronto Alt/Hard Rock


Brantford Pop Punk

Terra Cain

Sudbury Hard Rock


North Bay Death Metal


Sudbury Electro/Industrial

Fractal Generator

Sudbury Death Metal


Surrey Hip Hop Artist

Desolate State

Juice Box Metal

The Wring

Sudbury Heavy Metal/Hard Ro

Jason Rouse

Canadian Shock Comic

Dr. Bong

Sudbury One Man Funk


Canadian Thrash Legends

Sudbury Youth Rocks

Sudbury Youth Music Program

Darren Frost

Brantford Comedian


Vancouver Tech Death Metal

Behind These Eyes

Sudbury Deathcore

Laugh At The Fakes

Toronto Rock/Metal


Ottawa Pop Punk/Emo

Ruptured Birth

Sudbury Death Metal

The Twentiest

Sudbury Pop Punk/Rock

Tyler Beaulne

Acoustic Folk

Blackwood Sinners

Sudbury Rock And Roll

Jar Of Dirt

Alice In Chains Tribute

Motor City Maniacs

Oshawa Hard Rock/Metal

The Lad Classic

Toronto Classic Rock

Fernandez The Hypnotist

World Renowned Hypnotist


Canadian Thrash Legends

The Wring

Sudbury Heavy Metal/Hard Ro

Vintage Slang

Sudbury Alternative/Rock

Stan's Plan

Sudbury Pop Punk


Sudbury Alternative/Hardcor

Big Hoodoo

Detroit Horrorcore Rap

Esoteric Doctrine

Orillia Groove Metal

Crone Of War

Sudbury Metal

Dragged In

Toronto Hardcore Punk

Wanna Chat?

We are on #slack, please join our team and tell us how you really feel after the show.  The bands may be here!

Or go through the looking glass: /j #TheAsylum


We Are On The Internet

Stay connected and up to date with The Asylum on Facebook and Twitter:


For general information about the Asylum including bookings, please contact us at:

  • anebookings (@)
  • +705.207.7105
  • 19 Regent Street - Sudbury, Ontario